Plans for Edinburgh and Fife, Scotland

My post-internship life turns out to be rather busy, especially the weekends. I’ve been invited to some family events on my partner’s side, and we have a lovely holiday coming up (you’ll hear about that soon enough).

So last weekend we were in Kirkcaldy, Scotland, where a lot of people I met were just gushing about Scotland to me. I am easily persuaded, so eventually, I would like to take up on the accommodation offer I got over the weekend, and make a trip around Edinburgh and Fife (which is where Kirkcaldy is).

I like to be prepared, so I made a wish-list of things to do and see in Scotland with the help of Guides by Lonely Planet and some personal recommendations.

  1. Edinburgh Castle and Princes Street Gardens

    On the way to Kirckaldy, you inevitably get a glimpse of Edinburgh as the train passes. I can’t express how twitchy my feet get when I see the walls of the castle. Ideally, I’d want to spend a day exploring the castle, the gardens, the floral clock, and a walk across to…

  2. Dean Village

    Only minutes away (supposedly) from the busy castle area, I can’t wait to see how the village manages to keep itself so green and calm in the middle of Edinburgh.

  3. Camera Obscura & World of Illusions
    It’s a building full of visual tricks! When you bring art and physics together, I’m there, providing I can afford it.
  4. The Real Mary King’s Close

    Travelling… through time! A scripted tour through the spooky ghost-ridden 17th century part of Edinburgh sounds wonderful.

  5. Greyfriars Kirkyard and the City of the Dead Tour

    #voldemort #cementery #nonose #harrypotter #edinburgh #greyfriarskirkyard

    A post shared by Jakub Župka (@zupkajakub) on May 21, 2017 at 3:19pm PDT

    Getting spookier, Edinburgh’s 16th-century cemetery is not only a large part of the city’s history but also an inspiration for Harry Potter!

  6. The Elephant House

    And speaking of Harry Potter, who wouldn’t want to have a hot chocolate in the café where JK Rowling wrote Harry Potter?

  7. Arthur’s Seat, Holyrood Park

    #edinburgh #arthursseat

    A post shared by Taty Lowery 🔱 (@yeah_gone) on May 22, 2017 at 1:48pm PDT

    Considering the walk up the hill for Dover Castle, there’s not a lot I wouldn’t do for a great view over the city.

  8. Ravenscraig Castle and Park

    Classic Siblings Pic #RavensCraigCastle #Scotland

    A post shared by David Brown (@davidbrown30) on Jan 28, 2016 at 11:36am PST

    Moving to Fife through the North Queensferry crossing, the Ravenscraig Castle stretches across a large area with paths to go down to the pebbly beach. I never got to see the castle up close, so on my next visit, I’m making the whole trip through the park to finally walk the castle grounds.

  9. Falkland Palace and Gardens

    A lovely willow statue at #falklandpalace today

    A post shared by Jenny (@tartan_shamrock) on May 23, 2016 at 8:34am PDT

    Built under the instructions of the Stuarts, Mary Queen of Scots was a frequent resident in this (probably) enchanted castle. Recommended by a friend, I cannot say no.

This is an incomplete list and prone to change. I can’t even imagine what this list might become over time, but I’d love to hear from you and what you think the ultimate Edinburgh experience might be.

What’s on your bucket list and if you’ve been to Edinburgh or just Scotland in general, what was your favourite thing?

Leave a Reply

