My internship ended

First of all, I tried to keep up a weekly blog and last week was the only one I missed this year I think… There’s a reason for that, and that is because I was celebrating, relaxing, and tried not to succumb to panic.

As graduates do, I did an internship at a local business – but now that it’s over, what next?

I studied BA Communications and Media at Bournemouth University, and I couldn’t be happier about my course. When I applied all those years ago, I wanted a course that’s challenging and diverse because I wanted to do everything, from design to research.

I still want to do everything.

To start with, I did 3 months at a language school in Bournemouth, where I helped the Operational Director run things smoothly. It was the busiest summer of my life, as language schools just get flooded with students! It was really good though, because it made me see how differently people think and gave me a great lesson in communications.

Fast-forward 2 years, I just finished a journalism internship, and I left with more than just experience in journalism. Media companies are so synergetic which is why any time spent in one can teach you a lot about other platforms.

More specifically, I learnt a lot about analytics and social media. Besides writing, researching a story, and interviewing people and transcribing, there’s always more going on in a media company that’s developing and expanding. You need to know what works and what doesn’t, so I came to appreciate the time my supervisors spent on showing me analytics on Google, Facebook and Twitter.

It’s not all sunshine and rainbows, of course. Not all work placements pay you, and a lot of people don’t understand that unfortunately, that is the case for some professions. This is when support and thriftiness become your life fuel, so it’ll be a guaranteed stressful time, but if it looks right on your CV for your future job applications, that time spent there would be invaluable.

I haven’t had paid offers yet, but this post-internship time is actually really good to reflect on what you want to do and evaluate what you are good at. Still, it’s also really hard not to think about the next step, which is all up in the air. No rush, though.

I also feel much more confident in approaching companies, using more communicational platforms than before. And that confidence doesn’t just come from having done an internship, you also receive so much love and good wishes because you’ve been a part of a real team!

Anyway, my days will be spent applying to lots of things, introducing myself to strangers, and hope that I make the right impression.

To all of you who are in the same shoes, good luck to all of you out there! Keep working hard, keep on applying, and keep believing in yourself!

Leave a Reply

