The books that make me want to visit the USA

Before I get on to why The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater makes the US a bit more charming than I think it might be, I want to talk about why I am not looking at the US as my next holiday destination.

Full disclosure, I have never been to the United States before. But my lack of interest can be summarised by recent political events and public outcries.

What bugs me, aside from the eerie resemblance to 20th century history, is that this is the first thing I see before I even start thinking about visiting.

Yet somewhere amongst all the negative stuff, there are people who are kind and stand up for goodness and human decency.

And somewhere far away from dreadful politics, is Maggie Stiefvater’s Raven Cycle.

Set in Henrietta, Virginia, it captures the America I would want to see. The friendships, the scenery and the adventures are everything I would want to experience in America. If you’ve read it, you know what I am talking about.

If you haven’t, here’s a review that might convince you to read it:

Yes, the writing is so good, I am deliberating whether I actually need to see Virginia with my own eyes rather than my imagination.

But what do you think? Are my worries legitimate? Is Maggie Stiefvater’s portrayal of America accurate? and could a literary adventure be as good as a physical one?

Leave a Reply

