The Art of Commuting

Since moving to a small town, I’ve been calling time spent on the bus or the train “commuting”. It’s time-consuming and expensive, but the time doesn’t have to go to waste.

  1. Bring your planner
    There’s always time to plan out your next day or your evening. Make lists, and tick them off when you’re done. Being organised is never a bad quality.

  2. Charge up your phone
    When my battery bar is only half full, I can only wish for a portable charger I keep seeing everywhere. I always listen to music, play on my phone, or maybe do my weekly shopping.

    http://nerdismindecor.tumblr.com/post/148920512172/pokemon-go-pokedex-external-phone-charger-found

    This goes on to my wishlist.

  3. Play card games or solve puzzles
    On the train, there’s a lot you can do besides sleeping. Cards are an easy way to spend the time, and even if you are alone, there are many solitaire games, including the classic Klondike. And you can always get little puzzle books from any station to keep your mind busy.
  4. Read a book
    When we’ve been told (again and again) to read books, there was a good reason behind it. You can learn so much and experience a different life vicariously. Reading can also be physically healthy for your brain, so get yourself a paperback.
  5. Catch up with people
    It is getting harder and harder to keep in contact with people. Take your time, and write letters, texts, emails to your estranged friends and family.

I’m not the only one that commutes on a day-to-day basis. So what do you do? How do you pass the time on the bus or the train? Tell me in the comment section. I’d love to hear about you.

Leave a Reply

